YOGASTUDIO & TEAM

YOGASTUDIO / YOGASHALA

Welcome to my Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga studio in Ingolstädter Straße in the beautiful Frankfurt Nordend, adjacent to the Ostend. Conveniently located and quietly located, the rooms of a former daycare center were lovingly rebuilt in spring 2020. The opening was celebrated on April 6th, 2020. We continue to honour the great energy of the children of the kindergarten in the form of two painted stones; these serve us as doorstops.

The studio is flooded with light and welcomes you with a warm-hearted energy. The rooms invite you not only to our Ashtanga yoga classes, but also to a simple ‘meet-n-tea’. They are also suitable as co-working rooms and overnight accommodation is also available.

I am very grateful and satisfied with ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT to have arrived in my favorite environment in wonderful rooms. I am happy to welcome you here. Om namah shivaya, Chris.

》We also like to rent out our rooms or our Shala for workshops, one-off activities or for regular lessons. We charge 35€ or 50€ gross per hour depending on the type of use of our rooms. If you are interested, simply contact us at yoga@ayrf.de or call me directly: 0178-5454132.

》If you play with the idea of building something from scratch, if you plan weekly lessons, then we will certainly find a financial interim solution; in other words, a kind of step-by-step plan if the number of participants at the beginning is below a certain number. After all, it should also be worthwhile for you and of course I would also like to promote or build up a long cooperation. Isn’t it always a give and a take? Here, too, I live the principle of solidarity.

》We are also happy to rent to physiotherapists, masseurs, etc. (a massage table is located in the studio and can be shared).

THE TEAM OF AYRF

5 TEACHERS MAKE UP THE AYRF TEAM

TEAM | ASHTANGA YOGA ROOM FRANKFURT

The team of ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT consists of 2 teachers: Beate and Chris, who are in the middle of the picture. Outside sit our two assistant teachers: Alexia and Eric. Our substitute teacher Jana is unfortunately not in the team photo, as she only comes by once a year for a substitute period; but the photo will be made up.

CHRIS
OWNER & TEACHER

CHRIS | Owner & Yoga Teacher #1

Before I came into contact with Ashtanga Yoga, my life was focused on sports and physical challenges. I worked as an aerobics and fitness trainer in various gyms in Frankfurt and had to be persuaded to my first yoga class. A turning point that finally brought me to where I am today: I have been practicing yoga since 2003 and teaching Ashtanga Yoga since 2005 in Frankfurt and form the head of the team.

In 2021, during the Covid-19 pandemic, I found my current rooms. After an intensive renovation in February and March 2021, I celebrated the opening of my new studio on April 6, 2021. Since then I am overjoyed and satisfied with ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT to have finally arrived, to have finally found a great basis for my yoga lessons. I am happy to welcome you in my studio.

I took the chance to practice with different yoga teachers, but if someone asks me where I learned Ashtanga, the correct answer is: On the mat. Regular practice with yourself will allow you to dive deeper into yoga and learn more about this path and about yourself than you can ever learn through out any workshop or teacher training.

In my studio, I and my team teach the students the essence of the Ashtanga yoga system. Fundamental to this is the fusion of the asanas (postures), bandhas (energy closures) and drishtis (gaze focusing), also called tristana. I also give an insight into the other seven paths of Ashtanga Yoga. If you are interested in a trial class, please feel free to contact me.

Looking back over the last few years, I have realized that not only the students, but also me as a teacher, are undergoing constant change along the path of Ashtanga Yoga. Over the years, both my view of my own role as a yoga teacher and my way of teaching changed. At the beginning I felt like a strict traditional Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga teacher and today I would rather describe myself as a companion, initiator and supporter on the individual paths of Ashtanga Yoga. I keep tradition in mind, but the focus of my courses is on individuality.

A guru-centered system can have its positive sides if the so-called guru lives up to his role: he should lead his disciples from the dark (Gu) to the light (Ru), from ignorance to knowledge, and from ignorance to knowledge (of the self). But with his status, he should not create space for any kind of abuse or dependencies. As a human being, as a student and as a teacher, I have always questioned such guru-centric systems. The center of Ashtanga Yoga should not lie in a person or institution, but in everyone, regardless of space and time.

Om namah shivaya!

BEATE
YOGA-TEACHER
BEATE | Yoga Teacher #2

I first came into contact with Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga at the beginning of 2015. My motivation was initially purely physical: I was looking for a new sporting challenge after I had to give up other sports due to my back problems. Accordingly, I put on the newly found yoga practice also the hope of a health improvement of my physical complaints.

For the first half of the year, I practiced YouTube videos in my own home with a Hatha Yoga book and finally with a colorful collection of Ashtanga Yoga-inspired YouTube videos. The pictures of dislocating yogis impressed me a lot and were one of the decisive factors in keeping me on the ball. Luckily!

That Ashtanga Yoga can be more than the physical exhaustion, I only learned through my first lessons in the traditional Mysore style at ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT and with Chris. In retrospect, I have to say that it was only here that the first real point of contact with Ashtanga Yoga took place: The concise yet calm breathing in the classroom, the focused atmosphere, the common devotion of the students to this yoga practice fascinated me extraordinarily.

Actually, I had planned to visit a studio only sporadically and otherwise continue to practice for myself. But it also turned out differently for me than planned: I practiced as much as possible with my yoga teacher in the Shala in a motivating group and only rarely at home.

Today Ashtanga Yoga and ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT is part of my daily routine, it shapes my lifestyle, is my conviction and passion. At the beginning of 2018 I started my training with Chris as an assistant teacher and since the beginning of 2019 I have the opportunity to pass on my experience to the students in my own Mysore lessons. Since 2020 I am a proud yoga teacher in the team of AYRF.

For the opportunity to get to know Ashtanga Yoga and dive deeper, I am grateful on so many different levels. This practice has caught me both physically and mentally and made me recognize my life from a new perspective. I am determined and i am delighted from the bottom of my heart not only to continue along this path in the years to come, but also to pass it on. I am looking forward to meeting you in the studio in The Ingolstädter Straße in the beautiful Nordend (on the border to the Ostend)!

Beate has written a wonderful blog post on Greenyogashop.com, please read it. A great view of Ashtanga Yoga: https://www.greenyogashop.com/blog/ashtanga-vinyasa-yoga

Atha yoga anusasanam!

ALEXIA
ASSISTANT TEACHER

BEATE | Yoga Teacher #2

Since I was a child, physical activities have been a big part of my life. My parents are physical educators and even owned a gym, where I hanged around a lot after school (mostly playing around, not lifting weights!).

On 2018, I used to practice sports on a regular basis, but after a wonderful visit to Bali, I felt inspired to research more about Yoga and its capacity to connect body and soul. Soon after returning home, I started attending Ashtanga Yoga classes in a small shala near my house, in Rio de Janeiro and it quickly became a passion.

I am a lawyer in Brazil and in 2021 I moved to Frankfurt to obtain my master’s degree in law. I must say that I was very concerned about leaving my shala and my dear teachers in Brazil. Most of all, I feared that with all changes happening so fast my daily practice would be compromised.

Thankfully, it took me little time to find out about AYRF and after my initial classes with Chris and Beate my worries faded away. Both teachers, as well as the other students have welcomed me with open hearts and, after almost a year practicing yoga daily at AYRF, it already feels like a second home.

Chris has been an attentive teacher and also a friend. At the same time, he has provided me with precise technical corrections on the mat and also knowledgeable advices regarding certain aspects of my life. I feel truly grateful that he invited me to be an assistant teacher at AYRF and I hope that I can learn from him how to pass along my knowledge to new students as well as he does.

I truly believe that Ashtanga Yoga can help people become a better version of them. Not only through Asanas, but also through its other seven limbs, Ashtanga Yoga can provide a strong body, as well as healthy mind. Ashtanga Yoga has helped me become much more acquainted with myself, with my limits and the potential of what I can do. I chose Ashtanga Yoga not only as just a hobby, but as a way of life.

Lokah samastah sukhino bhavantu!

ERIC
ASSISTANT TEACHER

BEATE | Yoga Teacher #2

I grew up in the Netherlands and studied mathematics in Utrecht and later in Cambridge, UK. After my studies, I returned to the Netherlands and started working. In trying to find a balance between health, work, relationships, and personal interests, I found meditation very helpful. After a few years of practice, I also began to look for other practices such as yoga. In the summer of 2021, I attended a retreat that combined meditation and hatha yoga. I liked that very much.

Shortly afterwards I came to Frankfurt to work and started practicing Aṣṭāṅga with my first teacher, Sat Inder. The method of self-practice and the energetic atmosphere among the practitioners quickly convinced me. I developed a daily practice and found that it had a very positive effect on my health, work and other areas of my life. I also signed up for a retreat with Petri Räisänen. He and the other participants of the retreat have inspired and encouraged me a lot to continue practicing and even thinking about teaching.

I have been practicing at AYRF since the beginning of 2022. The personal and tailor-made lessons as well as the regular discussions with Chris and Beate have enabled me to further deepen my practice. Since August 2022, I am also a proud assistant teacher of AYRF; an additional exciting and intense challenge. It’s nice to be a part of the Ashtanga community. I look forward to seeing you!

Om sarvesam svastir bhavatu!

JANA
SUBSTITUTE YOGA TEACHER

JANA | Team #4

My first contact with yoga was thanks to my mother at about 11 years old. The access to yoga was then very free and playful and so I could make friends with the idea that Ashtanga Yoga is probably not necessarily just such an “adult thing”.

I came to my first Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga class two or three years later after my father suggested I take a class with some school friends. This course was led by Heather from pink elephant, who still accompanies me as a close reference person, yoga teacher and friend. The combination of physical challenge without competition, relaxation after tension and the directed focus on one’s own mat, one’s own body, one’s own mind, I liked from the beginning.

As a result, I attended the guided Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga class more or less regularly until my father, Flippo, and Heather opened the pink elephant yoga studio in my hometown of Ansbach in 2010. From now on, a much more regular Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga practice began and I got to know the traditional Ashtanga Yoga Mysore style.

In a difficult time for me as an adolescent woman – marked by identity issues, the separation of my parents and a stressful upper school – I began to realize that I could gain more support, peace as well as acceptance and understanding of my body through the Ashtanga yoga practice. The topic of non-violence in one’s own actions and thinking also came up more and continues to occupy me intensively to this day.

When I was 18, I went to India for almost three months. In the following years I was able to get to know various teachers and their teaching styles, was able to deepen and consolidate my Ashtanga yoga practice. My father introduced me to assisted and later to teaching for the first time. I have always had a close bond with my father, which was strengthened by the Ashtanga yoga practice and the understanding of it.

As part of my training, I moved to Frankfurt in 2014 and met Chris and ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT. Chris welcomed me from the very first lesson with open arms and hearts and gave me the opportunity to participate in the lessons not only as a yoga student, but also as an assistant teacher. I was able to learn a lot from his experience and through my own assist. In July 2018 I moved to Amsterdam and am happy to still be part of the AYRF team.

I am grateful for all the teachers I have met and learned from. To this day, a regular Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga practice for me means confrontation with myself, consistency, self-love and care as well as working on a healthy body and mind. I enjoy regularly representing and supporting the AYRFteam.

YOGASTUDIO & TEAM

YOGASTUDIO / YOGASHALA
(hier geht es direkt zum Team)

Willkommen in unserem Ashtanga Vinyasa Yogastudio in der Ingolstädter Straße im wunderschönen Frankfurter Nordend, angrenzend ans Ostend. Verkehrsgünstig und ruhig gelegen, wurden die Räume einer ehemaligen Kita liebevoll umgebaut. Die tolle Energie der Kinder halten wir in Form zweier bemalten Steine weiterhin in Ehren; diese dienen uns als Türstopper.

Das Studio ist lichtdurchflutet und empfängt Euch mit einer warmherzigen Energie. Die Räume laden nicht nur zu unseren Ashtanga Yogastunden ein, sondern auch zum einfachen ‚meet-n-tea‘. Auch als Co-Working Räume sind sie geeignet und eine Übernachtungsmöglichkeit ist auch vorhanden.

Wir sind sehr dankbar und zufrieden mit ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT in unserer favorisierten Umgebung in wundervollen Räumen angekommen zu sein. Wir freuen uns Euch hier empfangen zu können.

》Wir vermieten unsere Räume bzw. unsere Shala auch gerne für Workshops, einmalige Aktionen oder für regelmäßig stattfindende Unterrichtseinheiten. Wir berechnen 35€ brutto pro Zeitstunde der Nutzung unserer Räume. Bei Interesse kontaktiert uns einfach unter yoga@ayrf.de oder ruft mich direkt an: 0178-5454132.

》Spielst Du mit dem Gedanken Dir etwas von Null an aufzubauen, planst Du wöchentlichen Unterricht, dann finden wir bestimmt auch eine finanzielle Übergangslösung; also eine Art Stufenplan. Auch hier lebe ich das Solidar-Prinzip. Ist es nicht immer ein Geben und ein Nehmen?

》Wir vermieten auch gerne an Physiotherapeuten, Masseure, o. ä. (eine Massageliege befindet sich im Studio und kann mitbenutzt werden). Hier berechnen wir 20€ brutto pro Zeitstunde der Nutzung unserer Räume.

VIRTUELLER STUDIO-RUNDGANG

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

DAS TEAM VON AYRF

UNSER TEAM BESTEHT AUS 5 LEHRER*INNEN

TEAM | ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT

Das Team von ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT besteht aus 2 Lehrer*innen: Beate und Chris, die sich in der Mitte des Bildes befinden. Außen sitzen unsere beiden Assistenlehrer*innen: Alexia und Eric. Unsere Vertretungslehrerin Jana ist leider nicht auf dem Teamfoto, da sie nur einmal im Jahr für eine Vertretungszeit vorbeikommt; das Foto wird aber nachgeholt.

CHRIS
INHABER & LEHRER

CHRIS | Inhaber & Yogalehrer #1

Bevor ich mit Ashtanga Yoga in Berührung kam, war mein Leben auf Sport und körperliche Herausforderungen ausgerichtet. Ich habe als Aerobic- und Fitnesstrainer in diversen Fitnessstudios in Frankfurt gearbeitet und musste mich zu meiner ersten Yogastunde regelrecht überreden lassen. Ein Wendepunkt, der mich schließlich dorthin gebracht hat, wo ich heute stehe: Ich praktiziere Yoga seit 2003 und lehre Ashtanga Yoga seit 2005 in Frankfurt und bilde den Kopf des Teams.

2021, während der Covid-19 Pandemie, habe ich dann meine jetzigen Räume gefunden. Nach einem intensiven Umbau im Februar und März 2021, habe ich dann am 6. April 2021 die Eröffnung meines neuen Studios feiern. Seitdem bin ich überglücklich und zufrieden mit ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT endlich angekommen zu sein, endlich eine tolle Basis für meinen Yogaunterricht gefunden zu haben. Ich freue mich Dich in meinem Studio empfangen zu dürfen.

Ich habe die Chance genutzt, mit verschiedenen Yogalehrern zu praktizieren, aber wenn mich jemand fragt, wo ich Ashtanga gelernt habe, lautet die richtige Antwort: Auf der Matte. Die regelmäßige Praxis mit Dir selbst lässt Dich tiefer in das Yoga eintauchen und mehr über diesen Weg als vor allem auch über Dich selbst lernen, als Du bei irgendeinem Workshop oder Teacher-Training jemals aufnehmen kannst.

In meinem Studio bringe ich und mein Team den Schülern die Essenz des Ashtanga-Yoga-Systems bei. Grundlegend dafür ist die Verschmelzung der Asanas (Haltungen), Bandhas (Energieverschlüsse) und Drishtis (Blickfokussierung), auch Tristana genannt. Außerdem gebe ich Einblick in die weiteren sieben Pfade des Ashtanga Yoga. Interesse an einer Probestunde, dann kontaktiere mich gerne.

Im Rückblick auf die letzten Jahre ist mir bewusst geworden, dass nicht nur die Schüler, sondern auch ich als Lehrer auf dem Weg des Ashtanga Yoga einer steten Wandlung unterliegen. So änderte sich über die Jahre sowohl meine Sicht auf meine eigene Rolle als Yogalehrer als auch meine Art des Unterrichtens. Ich empfand mich zu Beginn noch als strenger traditioneller Ashtanga Vinyasa Yogalehrer und würde mich heute eher als Begleiter, Initiator und Unterstützer auf den individuellen Pfaden des Ashtanga Yoga beschreiben. Ich behalte die Tradition im Hinterkopf, doch im Fokus meiner Kurse steht die Individualität.

Ein Guru-zentriertes System kann seine positiven Seiten haben, wenn der sogenannte Guru seiner Rolle gerecht wird: er sollte seine Schüler vom Dunklem (Gu) zum Licht (Ru), von der Unwissenscheit zum Wissen und von der Unkenntnis zur Kenntnis (ihrer Selbst) führen. Doch sollte er mit seinem Status keinen Raum für jegliche Art von Missbrauch oder Abhängigkeiten schaffen. Als Mensch, als Schüler und als Lehrer habe ich solche Guru-zentrierten Systeme schon immer hinterfragt. Das Zentrum von Ashtanga Yoga sollte nicht in einer Person oder Institution liegen, sondern in jedem selbst, unabhängig von Raum und Zeit.

Om namah shivaya!

BEATE
YOGA-LEHRERIN
BEATE | Yogalehrerin #2

Ich bin Anfang 2015 zum ersten Mal mit Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga in Berührung gekommen. Meine Motivation war anfangs rein körperlicher Natur: Ich war auf der Suche nach einer neuen sportlichen Herausforderung, nachdem ich andere Sportarten aufgrund meiner Rückenprobleme aufgeben musste. Entsprechend setzte ich auf die neu gefundene Yogapraxis auch die Hoffnung einer gesundheitlichen Verbesserung meiner körperlichen Beschwerden.

Das erste halbe Jahr habe ich mithilfe eines Hatha Yoga Buches und schließlich mit einem bunten Sammelsurium an Ashtanga Yoga inspirierten YouTube-Videos in meinen eigenen vier Wänden geübt. Die Bilder von sich verrenkenden Yogis haben mich schwer beeindruckt und waren damals mit ausschlaggebend dafür, dass ich am Ball geblieben bin. Zum Glück!

Dass Ashtanga Yoga mehr sein kann als die körperliche Verausgabung, habe ich dann erst über meine ersten Stunden im traditionellen Mysore Stil bei ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT und mit Chris erfahren. Im Nachhinein muss ich sagen, dass erst hier der erste richtige Berührungspunkt zu Ashtanga Yoga stattgefunden hat: Die prägnante und doch ruhige Atmung im Kursraum, die fokussierte Atmosphäre, die gemeinsame Hingabe der Schülerinnen und Schüler an diese Yogapraxis haben mich außerordentlich fasziniert.

Eigentlich hatte ich geplant, nur sporadisch ein Studio zu besuchen und ansonsten weiterhin für mich allein zu üben. Doch kam es auch bei mir anders als geplant: Ich übte so viel es ging mit meinem Yogalehrer in der Shala in einer motivierenden Gruppe und nur noch selten zuhause.

Heute ist Ashtanga Yoga und ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT Teil meiner täglichen Routine, prägt es meinen Lebensstil, ist meine Überzeugung und Leidenschaft. Anfang 2018 habe ich meine Ausbildung bei Chris als Assistenzlehrerin begonnen und seit Anfang 2019 habe ich die Möglichkeit, meine Erfahrung in eigenen Mysore-Stunden an die Schüler und Schülerinnen weiterzugeben. Seit 2020 bin ich stolze Yogalehrerin im Team von AYRF.

Für die Möglichkeit, Ashtanga Yoga kennenzulernen und tiefer einzutauchen bin ich auf so vielen verschiedenen Ebenen dankbar. Diese Praxis hat mich körperlich wie mental aufgefangen und mich mein Leben aus einer neuen Perspektive erkennen lassen. Ich bin entschlossen und freue mich von tiefstem Herzen, diesen Weg in den nächsten Jahren nicht nur weiterzugehen, sondern auch weiterzugeben. Ich freue mich, Dich im Studio in der Ingolstädter Straße im wunderschönen Nordend (an der Grenze zum Ostend) kennenzulernen!

Beate hat einen wundervollen Blog-Beitrag bei Greenyogashop.com verfasst, lest Ihn Euch bitte unbedingt durch. Eine tolle Sicht auf Ashtanga Yoga: https://www.greenyogashop.com/blog/ashtanga-vinyasa-yoga

Atha yoga anusasanam!

ALEXIA
ASSISTENZ-LEHRERIN

BEATE | Yogalehrerin #2

Since I was a child, physical activities have been a big part of my life. My parents are physical educators and even owned a gym, where I hanged around a lot after school (mostly playing around, not lifting weights!).

On 2018, I used to practice sports on a regular basis, but after a wonderful visit to Bali, I felt inspired to research more about Yoga and its capacity to connect body and soul. Soon after returning home, I started attending Ashtanga Yoga classes in a small shala near my house, in Rio de Janeiro and it quickly became a passion.

I am a lawyer in Brazil and in 2021 I moved to Frankfurt to obtain my master’s degree in law. I must say that I was very concerned about leaving my shala and my dear teachers in Brazil. Most of all, I feared that with all changes happening so fast my daily practice would be compromised.

Thankfully, it took me little time to find out about AYRF and after my initial classes with Chris and Beate my worries faded away. Both teachers, as well as the other students have welcomed me with open hearts and, after almost a year practicing yoga daily at AYRF, it already feels like a second home.

Chris has been an attentive teacher and also a friend. At the same time, he has provided me with precise technical corrections on the mat and also knowledgeable advices regarding certain aspects of my life. I feel truly grateful that he invited me to be an assistant teacher at AYRF and I hope that I can learn from him how to pass along my knowledge to new students as well as he does.

I truly believe that Ashtanga Yoga can help people become a better version of them. Not only through Asanas, but also through its other seven limbs, Ashtanga Yoga can provide a strong body, as well as healthy mind. Ashtanga Yoga has helped me become much more acquainted with myself, with my limits and the potential of what I can do. I chose Ashtanga Yoga not only as just a hobby, but as a way of life.

Lokah samastah sukhino bhavantu!

ERIC
ASSISTENZ-LEHRER

BEATE | Yogalehrerin #2

Ich bin in den Niederlanden aufgewachsen und habe in Utrecht und später in Cambridge, UK, Mathematik studiert. Nach meinem Studium kehrte ich in die Niederlande zurück und begann zu arbeiten. Bei dem Versuch, eine Balance zwischen Gesundheit, Arbeit, Beziehungen und persönlichen Interessen zu finden, fand ich Meditation sehr hilfreich. Nach einigen Jahren der Praxis begann ich auch nach anderen Praktiken wie Yoga zu suchen. Im Sommer 2021 nahm ich an einem Retreat teil, das Meditation und Hatha-Yoga kombinierte. Das hat mir sehr gut gefallen.

Kurz darauf kam ich zum Arbeiten nach Frankfurt und begann bei meinem ersten Lehrer, Sat Inder, Aṣṭāṅga zu praktizieren. Die Methode der Selbstpraxis und die energetische Atmosphäre unter den Praktizierenden überzeugten mich schnell. Ich entwickelte eine tägliche Praxis und stellte fest, dass sie sich sehr positiv auf meine Gesundheit, meine Arbeit und andere Bereiche meines Lebens auswirkte. Ich meldete mich auch für ein Retreat mit Petri Räisänen an. Er und die anderen Teilnehmer des Retreats haben mich sehr inspiriert und ermutigt, weiter zu praktizieren und sogar über das Unterrichten nachzudenken.

Seit Anfang 2022 praktiziere ich bei AYRF. Der persönliche und zugeschnittene Unterricht sowie die regelmäßigen Gespräche mit Chris und Beate haben es mir ermöglicht, meine Praxis weiter zu vertiefen. Seit August 2022 bin ich nun auch stolzer Assistenz-Lehrer von AYRF; eine zusätzliche spannende sowie intensive Herausforderung. Es ist schön ein Teil von der Ashtanga Community zu sein. Ich freue mich auf Euch!

Om sarvesam svastir bhavatu!

JANA
VERTRETUNGS-YOGALEHRERIN

JANA | Team #4

Meinen ersten Kontakt mit Yoga hatte ich dank meiner Mutter mit ca. 11 Jahren. Der Zugang zum Yoga wurde mir damals sehr frei und spielerisch zugetragen und somit konnte ich mich mit dem Gedanken anfreunden, dass Ashtanga Yoga wohl nicht unbedingt nur so ein „Erwachsenending“ ist.

Zu meinem ersten Ashtanga Vinyasa Yogakurs kam ich zwei oder drei Jahre später, nachdem mein Vater mir vorschlug, einen Kurs mit einigen Schulfreundinnen zu besuchen. Diesen Kurs leitete Heather von pink elephant an, die mich bis heute als enge Bezugsperson, Yogalehrerin und Freundin begleitet. Die Kombination aus körperlicher Herausforderung ohne Wettbewerb, Entspannung nach Anspannung und dem gerichteten Fokus auf die eigene Matte, den eigenen Körper, den eigenen Geist gefiel mir von Anfang an.

Demzufolge besuchte ich mehr oder weniger regelmäßig die geführte Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga Stunde, bis 2010 mein Vater, Flippo, und Heather gemeinsam das Yogastudio pink elephant in meiner Heimatstadt Ansbach eröffneten. Von nun an begann eine deutlich regelmäßigere Ashtanga Vinyasa Yogapraxis und ich lernte den traditionellen Ashtanga Yoga Mysore-Stil kennen.

In einer für mich als heranwachsenden Frau schwierigen Zeit – geprägt von Identitätsfragen, der Trennung meiner Eltern und einer stressigen Oberstufe – begann ich zu realisieren, dass ich durch die Ashtanga Yogapraxis mehr Halt, Ruhe sowie Akzeptanz und Verständnis meines Körpers erlangen konnte. Auch die Thematik der Gewaltlosigkeit im eigenen Handeln und Denken kam verstärkt auf und beschäftigt mich bis heute intensiv.

Mit 18 ging ich für knapp drei Monate nach Indien. In den folgenden Jahren durfte ich verschiedenste Lehrer und deren Unterrichtsstile kennen lernen, konnte meine Ashtanga Yogapraxis vertiefen und festigen. Mein Vater führte mich damals auch erstmals ins Assistieren und später ins Unterrichten ein. Ich hatte schon immer eine enge Bindung zu meinem Vater, welche durch die Ashtanga Yogapraxis und das Verständnis hierfür noch verstärkt wurde.

Im Rahmen meiner Ausbildung zog ich 2014 nach Frankfurt und begegnete Chris und ASHTANGA YOGA RAUM FRANKFURT. Chris empfing mich ab der ersten Stunde mit offenen Armen und Herzen und gab mir damals die Möglichkeit, nicht nur als Yogaschülerin, sondern auch als Assistenzlehrerin an den Stunden teilzunehmen. Ich konnte viel von seiner Erfahrung und durch das eigene Assistieren lernen. Im Juli 2018 zog ich nach Amsterdam und freue mich, dennoch weiter Teil ein Teil des Teams von AYRF sein zu können.

Ich bin dankbar für alle Lehrer, die mir bisher begegneten und von denen ich lernen durfte. Bis heute bedeutetet eine regelmäßige Ashtanga Vinyasa Yogapraxis für mich Konfrontation mit mir selbst, Beständigkeit, Selbstliebe und Fürsorge sowie die Arbeit an einem gesunden Körper und Geist. Mir macht es Spaß das Team von AYRF regelmäßig zu vertreten bzw. zu unterstützen.